Lindenfels ; Pearl of the Odenwald – Matchbox Project

Currently I’m in Lindenfels, Historically referred to as ‘The Pearl of the Odenwald”, Lindenfels lies in the Odenwald in southern Hesse and is nestled in a mountain landscape with a great deal of woodland.

I’m here with Matchbox Rhein-Neckar, to do a month long art residency with the local people. Here are some of the things I’ve done so far;

Part One ; St Josefsheim

St Josefsheim was a former recreation center of the Sisters of the Divine Savior, for the past 12 years it’s been empty, gathering dust, with no water and a leaky roof. But that didn’t deter me and one my first day the mayor of the city handed me the keys and I got to work.

SUNP0001
Before cleaning
Living Room
After cleaning
People
Feast of St Leger
Food
Feast of St Leger

After cleaning the place I invited the people of the town to come to the opening called “The Feast of St Leger’ – I asked them to bring homecooked food and old plates that I will create art with.

The event was a great success and a choir came along to sing. After dinner I let people wander through the rooms that I had especially created art in.

CDTreasure
Treasure Chest
ForestFace
Mural painted only with Washing powder under UV light

Part Two ; Story Teller

When people gave me old plate, I started to transfer photos I had took of the people of Lindenfels onto these plates using Acrylic Gel Medium;

Plates
Transferring the photos
Dish
Finished design

I’m getting some really good results, especially with the plate’s pattern coming through – in the next few days I will start to hang them in the town.

Leave a Reply

