Artivism, 2006

Artivism, was my first ever show. I had been working for Voice of Irish Concern for the Environment and had been itching to do creative work again after a two year break. I saved some money, bought canvases and spray paint and started to produce some stencils of the thoughts that were going through my head.

The first thing I noticed about Ireland after being away from 10 years was how much money there was about the place. People seemed to be obsessed with designer clothes, luxury brands and status. I wondered what heroes like Michael Collins or Padraig Pearse would think if they were to see how absorbed the Irish people had become in their new found (EU supplied) wealth.

Leave a Reply

