100 Landmines in Dublin

The first piece of true ‘artivism’ that I did was on the landmine issue. I had been campaigning on Climate Change, Deforestation and other issues for ages, but landmines were different. In comparison to say, climate change which involves a worldwide effort of cutting our addiction to fossil fuels, land mines are man-made by a small number of weapon companies, so ban them outright! Countries like China, US and Russia have dragged to heels for decades to agree to stop manufacturing, stockpiling and planting landmines.

I wanted to do something to mark the International Landmine Awareness Day on the 4th of April each year. I picked the 1st of April as my planting day because if I got nicked by the cops I would use April Fool’s day as a pathetic excuse for placing dozens of fake bombs around a Irish city. :-/

Landmine Factory
Landmine Factory
Stockpile
Stockpile

I bought 100 enamel plates and spray painted them army green, then me, xpir and D$ stenciled a skull & cross bones and the words ‘landmine’ onto them in white. I also put a sticker underneath that gave the finder facts about the landmine issue worldwide.

Sunday morning, 1st April we set off, planting 100 around Dublin’s parks and green spaces. I got a friend to come down and take some pictures. The first place we planted them was Merrion Square, just across the road from the Dáil (Goverment’s Building). We then spilt up and xpir and D$ planted some around Phoneix Park, including (outside the American Ambassador’s house and The President’s Mansion).

At lunchtime we met up again fro lunch and my phone rang, (it was a close friend that knew about this project) She said that Merrion Square was closed off and crawling with cops searching the grass on their hands and knees. I thought it was a April fool trick until I went down there and it looked like a crime scene with Police tape and everything.

So I asked a Garda (Irish Police officer) what was going on and it turns out, an American tourist spotted a ‘landmine’ and called the emergency services, when the cops arrived they told him that they were obviously not real and even said it was a good idea!

Metro
Metro
4 thoughts on “100 Landmines in Dublin”

Leave a Reply

